Design Disciplin

Håkan Lidbo :: Imagination + Creative Work + Organizations

April 01, 2021 Mehmet Aydın Baytaş Season 2021 Episode 3
Design Disciplin
Håkan Lidbo :: Imagination + Creative Work + Organizations
Show Notes

Håkan Lidbo is a musician, artist, innovator, designer, and founder of the Rumtiden Idea Lab, an unconventional creative workspace in Stockholm.

The work of Håkan and his collaborators stretches across music, art, installations, games, robots, software, public installations, and more. It's quite difficult to define exactly what they do, which is a testament to their vision: "bringing totally new ideas into the world that weren't here before."

Håkan himself is wildly prolific (he has released more than 350 records and held a world record for the fastest-releasing musical artist in the early 2000s) and an embodiment of innovation. I sat down with him to talk about how he's able to place himself outside conventional structures and traditions while thriving as a productive and creative leader.


http://designdisciplin.com/hakan-lidbo


# Related Books, Links, and Resources

- Antifragile by Nassim Nicholas Taleb: https://geni.us/antifragile-dd
- Change by Design by Tim Brown: https://geni.us/change-by-design
- Creative Confidence by Tom Kelley and David Kelley: https://geni.us/creative-confidence
- Creative Selection by Ken Kocienda: https://geni.us/creative-selection-dd
- Elektron Music Machines: http://elektron.se/
- Homo Deus by Yuval Noah Harari: https://geni.us/homo-deus-dd
- How To by Michael Bierut: https://geni.us/how-to-dd
- How to Fly a Horse by Kevin Ashton: https://geni.us/how-to-fly-a-horse
- Reason Studios (formerly Propellerhead Software): https://www.reasonstudios.com/
- Sapiens by Yuval Noah Harari: https://geni.us/sapiens-dd
- Simone Giertz: https://www.simonegiertz.com/
- Teenage Engineering: https://teenage.engineering/
- The Almanack of Naval Ravikant by Eric Jorgenson: https://geni.us/almanack
- The Art of Innovation by Tom Kelley: https://geni.us/art-of-innovation
- The Bed of Procrustes by Nassim Nicholas Taleb: https://geni.us/bed-of-procrustes
- The Ten Faces of Innovation by Tom Kelley: https://geni.us/ten-faces
- Zoom H1N (Håkan's voice recorder): https://geni.us/zoom-h1n


# Connect with Design Discipline

- Website: http://designdisciplin.com​
- Podcast: http://podcast.designdisciplin.com​
- Instagram: https://instagram.com/designdisciplin/​
- Twitter: https://twitter.com/designdisciplin/​
- YouTube: https://youtube.com/channel/UCtXM3JdnERaNOiFKaHZJL_w
- Bookstore: http://designdisciplin.com​/bookstore


# Connect with Håkan Lidbo

- Personal Website: https://www.hakanlidbo.com/
- Website for Rumtiden: https://www.rumtiden.com/
- Twitter: https://twitter.com/hakanlidbo
- Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/hakan_lidbo/


# Episode Bookmarks

00:00:00 What does Håkan Lidbo do?
00:04:29 The Structure of Rumtiden
00:12:26 Håkan's Story
00:28:08 From Art to Platform
00:35:05 Learning Imagination
00:41:40 "Design"
00:55:14 Books
00:56:24 Places and Tools
00:57:47 Lego
01:02:21 Swedish Synthesizers
01:06:14 Collaboration and Singing Tunnels
01:12:54 Failure and Art
01:16:34 Inspirations
01:22:02 Closing